2017-18 HLC Accreditation

NMSU will be seeking reaffirmation of accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) during the 2017-18 academic year. The HLC identifies five Criteria for Accreditation, in addition to Assumed Practices and Federal Compliance, that the institution must address in the form of an Assurance Argument to gain reaffirmation of accreditation. In preparation, NMSU has developed five “writing teams” to specifically address each of the five criteria. NMSU is on the Open Pathway for reaffirmation of accreditation.

As drafts of each criterion are ready for review, NMSU invites faculty, staff and students to provide feedback and additional supporting evidence of how NMSU meets each criterion.

Review and provide feedback on sections of NMSU’s draft Assurance Argument

Advisory Boards/Councils

Submit Information on Advisory Boards/Councils


Writing Teams

Criterion One. Mission
Team Leader: Kevin Boberg
Team Members: Miriam Chaiken, Stuart Munson-McGee, Steve Loring

Criterion Two. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct
Team Leader: Luis Vazquez
Team Members: Timothy Ketelaar, Rolston St. Hilaire

Criterion Three. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support
Team Leader: David Smith
Team Members: Anne Hubbell, Esther Devall, Theresa Westbrock, Tony Marin, Terry Cook, Mary Prentice

Criterion Four. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement
Team Leader: Kathy Brook
Team Member: Ryan Goss

Criterion Five. Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness
Team Leader: D’Anne Stuart
Team Members: Natalie Kellner, Maria de Boyrie, Anna Price, Glen Haubold, Norma Grijalva

Federal Compliance: Bernadette Montoya


Timeline for 2017-18 re-affirmation of accreditation

HLC Representative presents Open Forums at 10:30am and 1:30pm on Thursday, Jan. 28 in Milton Hall Room 50

HLC Open Forum – Recorded Presentation Jan. 28, 2016

HLC Open Forum – Powerpoint Slides, Jan. 28, 2016

Schedule for HLC Liaison visit – Thursday, January 28